A page a day

A professional writer's private thoughts

A beautiful book

I am only adding myself to the litany of people who loved the debut novel of Alaskan journalist Eowyn Ivey, but I don’t often find books that capture my heart as effectively as this one did. The Snow Child is a perfect read for the short cold days of winter. I dove into it during a Southern California cold snap, and cringed while imagining what it would be like to live somewhere like the frigid Alaskan wilderness homesteaded by the tale’s main characters.

If you loved the stories of Laura Ingalls Wilder or the world of Caddie Woodlawn, you will identify with this fantastical (thanks for the word, O.S.) read that might make you want to revisit your favorite childhood fairy tales. It will also make you want to visit the wilds of Alaska – especially if the travel there could be in a time machine.

Whether  you are an emotionally open person or one with a fairly frozen heart, this book will grab you and not let go. It may not make you cry, but it will make you feel. I finished it two days ago and have still been thinking of the story since.  In a rare move for me, I will read The Snow Child again.

snowchild2

No comments yet»

Leave a comment