A page a day

Life on California's beautiful Central Coast

A few thoughts for Friday

The theme of this week was appreciation. It was a really quiet August week, one of those post-Fiesta recovery periods that Santa Barbara seems to need annually, and it got me thinking about what I am grateful for in my life.

I surprised even myself when I updated my Facebook status on Wednesday night. The message was uncomplicated: “I have an awfully nice, pretty simple life, and I am especially grateful for it at this particular moment.”

I wasn’t doing ANYTHING when I wrote that on Wednesday night. I’d come home after going to yoga, made myself some dinner, sat outside, read the next chapter of “The Tiger’s Wife.” As always, I was checking my stupid phone, convinced that somebody was probably just about to call me, but nobody did.

And I suddenly realized that I was totally OK with that.

I remember a conversation my late grandmother and I had about doing things solo. She admitted that she loved to go to the movies by herself, or shopping, or just about anything. Despite being the most socially connected person I knew (at that point in my young life), she loved being alone. I was just out of high school and had barely discovered this predilection within myself,  but I already knew I felt the same way.  It’s a preference that’s only grown stronger with age.

So in the vein of appreciating those things that we might not even realize deserve to be appreciated, here’s a few thoughts for Friday – about stuff I’m grateful for.

-My little house. Particularly, how close it is to the beach below Ellwood. I find all my solace there.

-Yoga practice. The kind women who teach and practice there always make me feel at ease.

-Health. I am very lucky to be as fit and healthy as I am, and I don’t take that for granted. It’s precious, and I work hard on the fitness part. I appreciate that I’ve never shirked on that.

-Nice people. They are everywhere, especially at my office and within my circle of friends and family, and I adore them all. Two who stand out: my roommate Emily Colgate. We ran track together in high school and reconnected this year because she needed a place to live in SB. She’s a doctor and a very cool woman. I’ve enjoyed hanging out with her this summer.  Also, my partner-in-crime on the Yardi blog, Elizabeth Giles. She’s a social media expert, stellar salsa maker, and an amazing mix of energy and enthusiasm. She gave me a tremendous compliment today by telling me she was inspired by my “pretty simple life” status and linking back to this blog. I couldn’t ask for a better colleague to work very closely with.

Have a wonderful weekend. Hope it’s simple and lovely and sunny out.

Isla Vista sunrise.

Sunrise on the edge of IV. Taken Wednesday on my way back from my run.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

