A page a day

Life on California's beautiful Central Coast

Now with more sand

DoritosEvery day I try to pick up some trash from the beach at the end of my run. Today it was a water-logged bag of Doritos. “Now with more salt and sand..”

Stupid thing to take a picture of, but I just liked the color of the red bag against the dark beach.

After UCSB graduation in June there were mylar ballons on the beach every day for a week. I guess people let them go after their parties and they drifted away. Picking up all those balloons really made me mad. Cleaning up bottle rocket detritus after the Fourth of July didn’t bother me as much.

You’d be surprised how many people leave unopened beers behind on the beach. I see at least one a week. (No, I never pick them up and run home with them. Or drink them. But I’ve thought about it.)

That’s all I’ve got for today. I hope your weekend is beach trash free and that you find some unopened beer.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

