A page a day

Life on California's beautiful Central Coast

Summer of pie

Peach pie with lattice crust

Peach Pie!

I’ve been on a baking streak lately, and not for any particular reason. But I realized not too long ago that the great thing about pie is that even if you don’t want to eat it yourself, there is always bound to be someone in the vicinity who will.

Something that always confused me as a kid was how my Mom, a prolific baker, could turn out all these amazing baked goods (cookies, brownies, pies, cakes, cupcakes, cheesecakes – you name it, she baked it) and not eat much if any of them. Well, I figured out her secret a couple of years ago. After I turned 30, I lost my sweet tooth.

Save your shocks of horror and amazement at my incredible restraint. I used to be very pro-dessert. Now I could care less. Granted, that doesn’t apply to the chocolate that my coworkers bring to the office – that I eat because I’m bored. These days I’ll make a pie and let it sit on the stove for 24 hours before I decide that somebody better eat it, and it’s not going to be me, and give it away.

So you might be wondering, “why bother?”, and it’s a valid question. But there’s something about the baking process that’s extremely therapeutic for me. Even when the crust doesn’t roll quite right or the edges aren’t perfectly scalloped, pie baking is a finite process that doesn’t take too long and produces a very desirable result. I’ve never met anybody who said “Pie? I hate pie!” If you are that person, fess up. You’re surely a specimen of tragic disorder.

I tend to keep making the same pies repeatedly because people like them. Berry, peach, apple, strawberry-rhubarb, rhubarb are all on that list. But there’s been a request for something unusual – a date pie – so that’s on my list for this weekend. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Rhubarb

Rhubarb pie pre-crust

 

Mixed Berry

Mixed Berry pie

 

1 Comment»

  David wrote @

Leah, I love your pies! They are all delicious, mostly because your crust is always perfect. I lost my sweet tooth too but not as bad as you. I still love sweets but eat less than before. I am ok with just one cookie, for example. You know who hasn’t lost their sweet tooth? Liz. HAHAHAH


Leave a Reply

