A page a day

Life on California's beautiful Central Coast

Vicki’s 3000

Saturday I spent a little time volunteering at the Vicki’s 3000 to benefit Special Olympics. My good friend Liz is the RD for this race, having gracefully taken it over from me after I had to move out of town in 2006.

Here are a few photos.

This girl and her mom made me smile, as my mom got my into running a long time ago. Though we never ran a race together, I think of her guidance as an amazing gift.

Al looks so happy to be almost done. It's cool to see runners of all ages out on the track.

The race director and another helpful assistant, past Rotaract president David Vo. Thanks David and Liz!

Kevin Young and Jake, 9-year-old winner of the first heat, discuss race strategy.

The final and fastest heat of the day.

Drea, on the right, will be running Grandma's Marathon next weekend in an effort to qualify for the US Olympic Trials. Best of luck to her.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

