A page a day

Life on California's beautiful Central Coast

Berry picking

Pies and cobbler on the horizon.

Pies and cobbler on the horizon.

Last night’s campsite on the Rogue River was berry heaven. There were ripe blackberries everywhere! I spent about an hour picking 3 quart size bags to put in the freezer – all that will fit in our little tiny van fridge. I guess we will not be having any more frozen burritos on the trip home. I’d estimate the value of each bag at $5. Since we only paid $10 to camp there, this works out as a pretty good deal! Hopefully I can cajole my mom into making one of her amazing berry pies with some of the berries. I think I may have lost my ability to roll pie crust after three months of no baking.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

