A page a day

Life on California's beautiful Central Coast

Flagstone and farming

The farmer is the man...

The farmer is the man...

So by now you are probably wondering: What’s with this woman and the hay harvest photos? I thought about this on my hour-long, hot and humid run this afternoon.

I find few things more beautiful than a field of open hay, grass or alfalfa. When my dad was a teenager, he and some buddies hauled hay during the summer in Santa Ynez and Montana. He describes it as pretty horrible work. Difficult machinery, excruciating temperatures, and danger — he once had a load topple and fall on him.

So when I saw this tractor out picking up the load today, I couldn’t help but think about that. And I also thought about how when I was growing up, the fields in Santa Ynez were mostly fields like this. Now, they’re mostly grapes. As much as I enjoy wine, I’d rather look at hay bales over vines. To me, it’s very symbolic of what America looks like.

On the other side of the street was a series of flagstone harvesting properties. Not really factories, but open hill mines of a sort.

Stone harvest.

Stone harvest.

Another way to make a living. If you look at the road grades around here you can see why the rock is perfect for big, flat patio sandstones.

Couple more random shots from today’s run.

Let's call it "reverse lawnmower wheelie."

Let's call it "reverse lawnmower wheelie."

Sign says: "Home of National Senior Pro Rodeo Bareback Rider."

Sign says: "Home of National Senior Pro Rodeo Bareback Rider."

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

